San Marcos receives all-district honors

Photo by Gerald Castillo

San Marcos Baseball

District 14-6A honored its top performers on Monday after the conclusion of the 2017-18 season.

San Marcos had four players announced to the all-district teams after a four-seed berth into the playoffs resulted in two rounds of play for the Rattlers.

Earning first-team all-district honors was senior Josh Wilder and junior Ruben Miranda, who each played a key role in the success this season. Wilder and Miranda contributed on both ends batting in the heart of the lineup, while contributing starts on the mound as well.

Wilder and Miranda were two of the more versatile players on the field when not on the mound. Wilder was named first team designated hitter but saw playing time at first base and in the outfield regularly. Miranda was named first team at third base but received a start on the mound, played in the infield and the outfield during the playoff run.

Junior Nick Villalobos and senior Devyn Saenz were named second team all-district for their performance in district play. Villalobos was honored as a designated hitter, while Saenz was recognized for his consistent performance at second base.

San Marcos also had seven players named as Honorable Mentions: RJ Pardo, Julian DeLeon, Colt Ozmen, Isaac Mancias, Seth Luera, Matt Campos and Andrew Moreno.

This season will be the last year the Rattlers compete with the Austin schools as they’re set to play in District 26-6A next season. The new district will include competition from the San Antonio area.

All-District awards, first and second teams

District 14-6A MVP

Rudy Reyna - Senior - Akins

District 14-6A Newcomer

Peyton Benesh - Sophomore - Bowie

District 14-6A Coach of the Year

Sam Degelia - Bowie

Kenny Matthews - Anderson

District 14-6A Team All-District


Ben Cave - Senior - Anderson

Kobe Poehl - Senior - Bowie

Connor Archer - Junior - Akins

Oscar Zamorano - Freshmen - Del Valle


Jake Rugeley - Senior - Anderson

First Base

David Wilson - Junior - Akins

Second Base

Jonathan Mendez-Senior-Bowie

Third Base

Ruben Miranda-Junior-San Marcos


Santiago Rodriguez - Junior- Akins


Seth Werchan - Junior-Bowie

Owen Burkle - Junior-Bowie

Jacob Ledesma - Senior-Bowie

Gilbert Machuca- - Junior

Joseph Rumrich- Junior

Designated Hitter

Josh Wilder - Senior - San Marcos

Utility Fielder

Andrew Noack - Senior - Bowie

Second Team All-District


Ben Kurio - Senior - Anderson

Aaron MacInvale - Sophomore - Bowie

Miguel Lopez - Senior - Manor


Mason Arvallo - Akins - Senior

First Base

Andrew Mitchell - Anderson - Senior

Second Base

Devyn Saenz - San Marcos - Senior

Third Base

Ryan Camacho - Akins - Senior


Chase Maus - Manor - Senior


Andre Jackson - Anderson - Junior

Rickey Yanez - Del Valle - Sophomore

Darren Basta - Manor - Junior

Designated Hitter

Nick Villalobos - San Marcos - Junior

Honorable Mentions

RJ Pardo - Senior - San Marcos

Julian Deleon - Junior - San Marcos

Colt Ozmen - Junior- San Marcos

Isaac Mancias - Sophomore - San Marcos

Seth Luera - San Marcos

Matt Campos - San Marcos

Andrew Moreno - San Marcos

Austin Rodriguez - Manor

Juan Morales - Manor

Jacinto Faz - Manor

Matthew Ollinger - Manor

Christian Rosales - Manor

Jeremiah Rodriguez - Manor

Julian Smith - Akins

Nico Romero - Akins

Andrew Wilk - Akins

Matthew Wheeler - Senior - Bowie

Nick Powers - Junior - Bowie

Cody Gray - Freshmen - Bowie

Drew Blankenship - Senior - Anderson

Jack Kurio - Senior - Anderson

Carter Raney - Junior - Anderson

Peyton Zachry - Senior - Anderson

Trevor Marek - Junior - Anderson

Kyle Brown - Senior - Anderson

Armando Navarro - Freshmen - Del Valle

Isaiah Salas - Junior - Del Valle

Jacob Torres - Junior - Del Valle

Marc Gorea - Junior - Del Valle 

San Marcos Daily Record

(512) 392-2458
P.O. Box 1109, San Marcos, TX 78666